Small Town Reunion

So, this past weekend was my husband’s ten-year, high school reunion. Originally scheduled at the Mariott Hotel in downtown Baton Rouge, it was going to be a nice big to-do where everyone dressed up, reconnected, and relived the glory days.

But this is little ole Livingston Parish and things just didn’t turn out quite the way they had planned.

I heard through the grapevine that when the time came, no one wanted to pay the piper and the committee could no longer afford to hang out in downtown BR. However, It probably just boiled down to the fact that none of these people wanted to pay to hang out with people they see too often already.

I mean, this isn’t exactly the kind of place most people leave from. Roots go deep in this part of the world. And even though we all seem content to just stay in place, everyone still goes to the same dang trouble of avoiding the people they went to high school with in the grocery store. If you’ve never ducked down behind a big lady on a scooter whose slowly wheeling her way down the coke aisle in Walmart then you don’t know crap.

Now, the reunion being canceled wasn’t any skin off my back. Jacob and I already weren’t going because of his insane work schedule.

But then suddenly the event was back on.

The location was moved to a local daiquiri bar where karaoke was to be the entertainment for the night. Yep, you heard right. A drive-through daiquiri bar was the next best choice to the Mariott. This was something I just couldn’t resist seeing. So, when Jacob asked if I wanted to go with him I was all for it. After a couple of beers of course. The daiquiri bar also happens to be an occasional haunt of ours, which made the going all that easier.

Because Jacob had to work early the next morning, we decided to go early and leave early. Meaning we got there at around 7 P.M. and left a little after 10. The event didn’t start until 8 P.M. so we were the first guests to arrive… sort of.

As we sidle up next to the bar and order a drink Jacob notices that sitting next to us is an old classmate of his. And this guy has no clue that he’s about to be smack-dab in the middle of the same reunion that he was trying to avoid in the first place. (or at least that’s what he said. I mean c’mon, there were decorations EVERYWHERE!)

We talked with him for a while. Or at least he and Jacob talked. He and I, however, seemed to have nothing to talk about. That is until we remembered that we used to work together years back – small town, remember?

Finally, the alumni slowly started to trickle in… I think. Did I forget to mention that the daiquiri bar was still open to the public?

It wasn’t long, though, before Jacob began to see people he knew and liked. A couple of guys came in from Colorado (I guess some people actually did make it out) and Jacob was excited to see them and reconnect, but for the most part the group we hung out with consisted of people that we could see any day of the week if we actually wanted to.

All-in-all, the event was a hit. There were definitely more than the estimated 30 people that Jacob predicted would show… I think. Again I’m not real clear on who all was alumni. Either way, there was well over 30 people and Jacob was very happy that we had attended.

For my part, I didn’t exactly get myself out of my comfort zone. Somehow, I managed to hide away outside with a familiar face and a bucket of beer, but I did end up having a great time.

Leave a Reply

